Greetings from the DEPARTMENT OF PLASTIC SURGERY at the University of Pittsburgh!

WE ARE GETTING EXCITED ABOUT SEEING MANY OF YOU AT THE 3rd Futrell Society of PITT Plastic Surgery Alumni Educational Symposium on Saturday, June 16th from 8:30AM to 4:00PM at the University Club, Pittsburgh. Click here to find the event program.

The first two Symposia (2014, 2016) were fantastic and this one promises to be better yet. As you can see, the program contains state of the art presentations in many areas of plastic surgery presented by world renowned PITT Alumni. There will be ROOF-TOP RECEPTION to follow at the University Club at 4:00PM. As always there will be great fun, camaraderie and collegiality.

Please plan to attend and RSVP to Hotel reservations for Hilton Garden Inn, University Place, can be made by clicking here.

THANK YOU to Alumni who have donated to the Futrell Society within the past year. With your help we have raised close to $40,000 to support educational initiatives through the Futrell Society. We thank you for your continued support of the program.

It has been a banner year in the Department of Plastic Surgery for residents and faculty alike.

Mario G. Solari, MD, class of 2011, and colleagues at MD Anderson were recently awarded the James Barrett Brown prize for Best Publication in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery for 2017 for the publication entitled, Optimizing Outcomes in Pharyngoesophageal Reconstruction and Neck Resurfacing: 10-Year Experience of 294 Cases. Plast Reconstr Surg. 2017 Jan;139(1):105e-119e (Sharaf B, Xue A, Solari MG, Boa O, Liu J, Hanasono MM, Skoracki R, Yu P, Selber JC.)

Mario is a driving force in the teaching program, he has dual appointments in Plastic Surgery and Otolaryngology, and takes the lead role in reconstruction for head and neck cancer defects. Residents and fellows working in the Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation and Microsurgery (VCAM) Laboratory have been recognized for their prize-winning work at recent meetings.

TEAM PITT, powered by the residents, under the tutelage of new Program Director, Vu T. Nguyen, MD, class of 2006, continues to excel in competitions at regional meetings. At the recent Robert Ivy Society Meeting this April they had 14 podium presentations and 20 poster presentations. In the end, Pitt ended up taking home awards for Second Place Basic Science by Asher Schusterman, MD, PGY-4, for his talk entitled “Adipose-Derived Stem Cells Delay Muscle Atrophy after Peripheral Nerve Injury in the Rodent Model,” First Place Basic Science by Joshua Barnett, BS, VCAM Lab, for his talk entitled “FK506 Releasing Nerve Wraps Accelerate Nerve Regeneration,” and Overall Paper and the George Manstein Award went to Chiaki Komatsu, MD, VCAM Lab, for her talk entitled “Assessment of Retinochoroidal Circulation Using Fluorescein Angiography in Rodent Whole Eye Transplantation Model.”

Our Chairman J. Peter Rubin, MD, continues to be a widely published authority on adipose cell biology and his ongoing research is groundbreaking. He and Dr. Losee both serve on the Executive Committee of ASPS as Vice Chairs of Finance and Education, respectively.

Joseph E. Losee, MD, Ross H. Musgrave Endowed Chair in Pediatric Plastic Surgery, Professor and Executive Vice Chair of Plastic Surgery, was recently named the Chairman of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. Joe has also been an impact player intramurally and has been appointed an Advisory Dean in the School of Medicine at University of Pittsburgh.

TEAM PITT was in evidence at the recently held American Association of Plastic Surgeons Meeting in Seattle, WA, as seen in the photograph below. Pictured are several generations of PITT Alumni including Drs. Bill Futrell, division chief 1979 – 2000, Mike White, class of 1988, Bill Kuzon, micro fellow 1992, and current faculty members Drs. Peter Rubin, Joe Losee, Mike Gimbel, Alex Spiess, and Elizabeth Moroni a medical student from Georgetown who will be starting the integrated residency program in July. Also pictured is Dr. Fred Heckler (Honorary Alumnus), a long-term contributor to the teaching faculty at Allegheny General Hospital.

It is with considerable sadness that we say goodbye to Kia McLean Washington, MD, class of 2011, who will be relocating with her husband Chris (a vascular surgeon) and their two daughters to Denver, Colorado. Kia has done ground-breaking basic science research in the field of whole eye transplantation, and she will be joining the Division of Plastic Surgery at the University of Colorado where PITT Alumni Tae W. Chong, class of 2010, and Fred WB Deleyiannis, class of 2002, are working with David Mathes, MD, Division Chief, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, to create an excellent plastic surgery residency program. Kia will be sorely missed by her colleagues, the residents (she has influenced many PITT residents to pursue hand surgery) and hand surgery fellows.

On a brighter note, new members of the PITT Plastic Surgery Family include the medical students matching into our 2018-2019 Integrated Plastic Surgery Program. We did very well and welcome Michael Sung-Min Hu, MD, MPH (New York Medical College), Elizabeth Moroni, MD (Georgetown), and Xiao Zhu, MD (University of Pittsburgh).

Congratulations to the Class of 2018!

Debra A. Bourne, MD
Jordan Fishman, MD
Jessica A. Lee, MD
John Pang, MD
Edward J. Ruane, MD

Omar Beidas, MD
Dorothy Bird, MD
Justin Daggett, MD
Wesley Sivak, MD

Last, but certainly not least – DR. ERNIE MANDERS has announced his retirement effective June 30, 2018. He has had an illustrious career both at Hershey Medical Center and especially here at the University of Pittsburgh. We will certainly miss him in many ways. Ernie will be recognized at Futrell Society Symposium and the resident’s graduation dinner on June 23rd the following Saturday. Alumni attending the symposium will be invited to share Ernie “vignettes.”

We look forward to seeing you all at the upcoming FUTRELL SOCIETY OF PITT PLASTIC SURGERY ALUMNI EDUCATIONAL SYMPOSIUM Saturday, June 16th in Pittsburgh!

Warmest personal regards,

Kenneth C. Shestak, MD, Executive Director, Futrell Society of PITT Plastic Surgery Alumni
Class of 1985